New SWANA President Jeff Murray takes over for FY18

By Cole Rosengren, Waste Dive.

The Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA) formally announced that Jeff Murray has taken over as president of the organization for FY18. Murray was elected at the ISWA World Congress & WASTECON in Baltimore on Sept. 26.

Murray is an associate and the solid waste section manager for HDR in Raleigh, NC. He is a registered professional engineer in North Carolina, Delaware and Virginia, and is certified by the American Academy of Environmental Engineers. He also received that organization's Grand Prize Award for the development of a "Landfill Based Geothermal Heating System" in 2013.

In addition to Murray, SWANA's other officers now include Rich Allen as past president, Frank Caponi as vice president, Michael Greenberg as treasurer, and Brenda Haney as secretary.