Federal Laws & Regulations


Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS2)

The Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) is a USA federal program that requires transportation fuel sold in the U.S. to contain a minimum volume of renewable fuels. The RFS originated with the Energy Policy Act of 2005 and was expanded and extended by the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA).  EPA's Renewable Fuel Standard Homepage.  RFS2 Text. 


Clean Air Act (CAA)

The Clean Air Act is the law that defines EPA's responsibilities for protecting and improving the nation's air quality and the stratospheric ozone layer. The last major change in the law, the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, was enacted by Congress in 1990. Legislation passed since then has made several minor changes. EPA's Clean Air Act Homepage. Clean Air Act Text. 


Energy Policy Act of 2005

The Energy Policy Act of 2005 (Pub.L. 109–58) is a bill passed by the United States Congress on July 29, 2005, and signed into law by President George W. Bush on August 8, 2005. The Energy Policy Act is the authorizing legislation of the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS1). Department of Energy's Federal Energy Management Program. Energy Policy Act of 2005 Text. 


Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA)

Signed on December 19, 2007 by President Bush, the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA) aims to 1) move the United States toward greater energy independence and security; 2) increase the production of clean renewable fuels; 3) protect consumers; 4) increase the efficiency of products, buildings, and vehicles; 5) promote research on and deploy greenhouse gas capture and storage options; 6) improve the energy performance of the Federal Government; and 7) increase U.S. energy security, develop renewable fuel production, and improve vehicle fuel economy. EPA's EISA Summary Page. EISA Text.